I decided to study Gustav Klimt because I am interested in his use of pattern.  As opposed to the patterns in my work, Klimt’s eclectic style combining art from the Byzantines, Egypt, and Greece, caught my attention. 

Gustav Klimt was one of the most influential artists of Art Nouveau, using impressionistic techniques.  My favorite paintings of Klimt’s are the works of art that he created during the Golden Age.  During this period, Klimt’s works consisted of patterns within patterns which then lead to some type of figure.  I am interested in his use of color (mixing metallic paint with opaque) and his perspective of art.  Gustav Klimt’s art is abstract and unique, it combines patterns and portraiture.  I am interested in studying his work further to inspire my future pieces. 




Leave a Reply.